2019 USS Nimitz Association History

The USS Nimitz (CVN-68) Association held our 22nd Reunion in Biloxi, Mississippi from May 6, through May 9, 2019 at the Imperial Palace Hotel and Casino. Our Host and Hostess were Bill and Joyce Paschall. The current Board of Directors, Executive Board and Officers are Rich Galecki, President, Newsletter Editor and By-Laws Committee Chair, Dave Wood, Vice President and Ship's Storekeeper/Memorabilia Storekeeper, Ed Deats, Secretary/Treasurer, WebMaster, Database Administrator and Nomination Committee Chair, President Emeritus, Bill Paschall, Chaplain, Father Peter Norris, Laurie Crabtree, Spousal Advocate, John Wilder, Audit Committee Chair, Ray Bigelow, Membership Committee Chair, Tim Gildea, Scholarship Committee Chair, Mark Thompson, Veterans Service Officer, Marc Berlin, Executive Board Member–at-Large, Stephen Crabtree, Executive Board Member-at-Large.

Monday, May 6th 2019 at 1800: The Bud Scott Hospitality Room was open to all hands and guests. President Galecki commenced Executive/Full Board meeting to discuss the Agenda for Tuesday's All Hands and Members Business meeting. A brief discussion on items for voting were discussed by the Board.

Tuesday, May 7th 2019 at 0900: President Galecki opened the all Hands meeting and welcomed members, spouses and guests. Introductions were conducted and first time attendees were recognized. We had 78 members and guests attending. We also had nine new members join the Association during the Reunion. The members that attended were Mark Baca, John Baker, Ray Bigelow, Richard Bouchard, Joe Brunner, Hank Byrnside, Billy Chastain, Danny Collin, Bob Coniglione (New), Forrest Conrad, John Corriea, Jeff Crabtree, Steve Crabtree, Michael Culbertson, Ed Deats (Secretary/Treasurer), Mike Dempsey, Archie Earl, Roy Fell, Jim Futtner, Jim Futtner, Rich Galecki (VP), RADM Dick Gaskill (Also Guest Speaker), Tim Gildea, Randall Hughes, Rudy Law, Andy Lewallen, John Mingora, Jeffrey Moore, Rick Morley, Patrick Nichols, Ken Nielsen, Fr Peter North (Association Chaplain), Pat O'Brien, Fred Parks (New), Bill Paschall (President Emeritus), Scott Patterson, Greg Perkins, Jack Pointer, Frank Reusche, Jim Thomas, Myrl Wallace, John Wilder, John Williams, Dave Wood (Vice President), Woody Wood and New Members Kenneth Brooks, Jim Ratcliff, Paul Farrell, Ted Glover, Doug Waltman, Jim Pocase, and Robert Aronofsky

The women and guest were excused to hold their meeting and President Galecki conducted the Business Meeting in accordance with the Association's By-laws. Minutes from the 2018 Reunion were approved. President Galecki made a motion that the By-Laws be suspend for the two-year term for President next year and that he would run for a one-year term to allow for the President and Vice President to be elected on alternative years. It was seconded and will be voted on at the next business meeting. It was seconded, and will be voted on at the next business meeting. A motion was made and seconded that the Secretary/Treasurer's position would finish out the year with the Secretary/Treasurer Elect going through orientation to learn the position. Discussion was held concerning the Audit of the Association Financials, as well as old and new business. Nominations were taken for the 2022 Reunion site: Fredericksburg, Texas, Corpus Christie, Texas, and a cruise with a Port TBD. There was no further business and the meeting was adjourned at 10:45 AM

Wednesday, May 8th.2019 at 0900 the Member's Business Meeting commenced. The Treasurer's Report and Financials for 2019 were accepted after an audit was conducted by John Wilder. The motion made pertaining to the Bylaws for the one-year term for President was voted on and approved unanimously. The motion for the Secretary/Treasurer to stay in office until the end of the year was approved unanimously. The 2022 Reunion site selection was the cruise and it will be hosted by Dave and Carol Wood.

Secretary/Treasurer Ed Deats updated the membership on the Association's Financials through the first quarter of 2019. The Association Checking Balance as of the end of 2019 was \$22,175. With a short period the financials for 2019 and 2020 will be audit approved at the Las Vegas Reunion

Thursday May 9th 2019 at 1815. Our Banquet commenced with a Cocktail Reception. President Galecki opened the Banquet with his Welcome remarks. The Pledge of Allegiance was held. Per the Association's tradition, Father Peter Norris and VP Dave Wood conducted the Two Bell Ceremony and then Father Peter conducted the invocation and dinner commenced. Our guest speaker this year was RADM Dick Gaskill who was the second Commanding Officer of the USS Nimitz.

President Galecki announced that Laurie Crabtree was re-elected for her second term as Spousal Advocate.

Tim Gildea – Scholarship Chair discussed the candidates for this year's scholarship. Our winner of the 2019 Scholarship was Gwyneth Hallenbach and her sponsor was Forrest Conrad.

After dinner, Bill and Joyce Paschall were thanked for their hard work hosting and coordinating the 22nd Annual Reunion. Laurie Crabtree (Spousal Advocate) presented Joyce with a bouquet of flowers.

Father Peter Norris conducted the Benediction. President Galecki closed this year's Reunion with his final remarks, thanking RADM Gaskill and everyone who attended. He stated he is looking forward to seeing everyone next year in Las Vegas..

Special Events during 2019:

On August 1, 2019, The USS Nimitz had a Change of Command ceremony. Captain Max Clark relieved Captain Lennox as Commanding Officer and became the 19th Skipper. The Nimitz Association was well represented by Vice President Dave Wood and Shipmates Bruce Maas and Mark Thompson. Our Shipmates were treated with the utmost respect, candor and dignity per Mark Thompson. Bravo Zulu Shipmates!

Shipmate Joe Murphy let the Association know that former XO of Nimitz Michael "Buzz" Donnelly received a promotion to RADML in April 2019 after completing his tour of duty as CO of the USS Ronald Reagan.

Our recruiting efforts in 2019 resulted in 13 new members, six new Life Members, two members returned to the Association and 21 members who became Life Members. We lost 13 members due to non-payment of dues for over two years.